O! A powerful day with Oprah in South Africa

With a grateful heart, I share my profound experience with you. Oprah Winfrey graced the stage at Gallagher Convention Centre, on Monday 14th October 2013. Oprah needs no introduction and can be described as a media mogul, International talk show host and mentor for many people.

With so much excitement, I felt a bit overwhelmed as I walked into the hall filled with approximately 6000 people. I quickly browsed through all the stands and headed to the auditorium which a buzz with beautifully dressed women in their finest outfits.

I had the pleasure of meeting women who journeyed from all parts of the world just to be in the presence of Oprah. I can only describe the moment of Oprah’s presence on stage, as being highly emotional for me. My dreams of wanting to meet the woman who gave me hope and inspiration, was now a reality. As a young woman I was inspired to do good for others and see possibilities. Oprah is still my mentor and I will one day soon get to shake her hand and embrace her 🙂

Ariane de Bonvoisin, Julie Morgenstern and Redi Tlhabi also shared their inspiration, wisdom and encouragement with the audience. Being able to share some of the lessons I learnt from these inspiring speakers, gives me so much pleasure. As I know that many of you will relate to the messages and you will put them into action.

Ariane De Bonvoisin, an author of "A foot in both Worlds" , provided valuable tips on how to navigate change successfully.

Lesson 1: " Turn the ‘ME’ energy to help serve others." Why waste precious energy and time focusing on a problem when you could use the same energy to help someone else in need. The good deed will leave two people feeling better. And so the cycles of good continues. Have you experienced this?

Lesson 2: "Take care of your emotional health, physical health and spiritual health." We achieve balance when all are in synchronicity. How often we tend to neglect one aspect and find ourselves out of balance and harmony.

Redi Thlabi, a journalist and radio personality, enlightened the captivated audience with these life lessons:

Lesson 1: " Use your light to illuminate the lives of others" A personal favourite of mine, this message needs no explanation.

Lesson 2: "Listen to your self-dialogue. Negative self-dialogue is poison. Make a renewed commitment to think good thoughts about yourself, so that others too may have good thoughts about you." It all starts with you. I renewed my commitment ,right there at that moment. Shouldn’t you?

I must applaud Redi for sacrificing her time to share her inspiration with us after giving birth to her new baby just five days ago. That right there is using "your light"

Julie Morgenstern, shared her expertise on Organizing and Time Management Expert.

Lesson 1: In order to make room for change , you need to release and declutter your life in order to make room for the new actions of change. "The S.H.E.D process allows you space to declutter and think. S=seperate the treasures, H=Heave the trash, E= Embrace your Identity, D=Drive yourself forward" I have already started cleaning out my space and donating to charity, ( don’t forget the habits clutter ) to make room for the new flow of energy. Out with the old…

Lesson 2: "We are what we are regardless of what we own" It is energising to release and Attachment can weigh us down. Can you relate to this?

And now, a highlight of lessons from Oprah:

Lesson 1: "Be responsible for the energy you bring into the room" Wow! profound words. Energy is contagious and you need to be aware of what you think and feel. Being aware makes one conscious, in the moment and kinder. A reasonable request right?

Lesson 2: "Pay attention: life is speaking to us. Listen to the whispers" How can we listen if we don’t learn to be still? That is the way in. Don’t drown out the voice of God. I have found meditation helps me be still. Intuition is the little whispers. It never lies.

Lesson 3: "Gratitude" Being grateful daily for life’s simple pleasures. Focus on things you have to be thankful for and you will get more reward. Write it down. For every action, there is an opposite and equal reaction.

Lesson: 4: " In God I move and breathe and have my being " Trust in God to move you forward in times of sorrow and happiness.

Oprah closed with a poem that touched my soul. I share it with you with a wish that you too may be inspired and remember to Love You first.

Love After Love

The time will come
when, with elation
you will greet yourself arriving
at your own door, in your own mirror
and each will smile at the other’s welcome,

and say, sit here. Eat.
You will love again the stranger who was yourself.
Give wine. Give bread. Give back your heart
to itself, to the stranger who has loved you

all your life, whom you ignored
for another, who knows you by heart.
Take down the love letters from the bookshelf,

the photographs, the desperate notes,
peel your own image from the mirror.
Sit. Feast on your life.

by Derek Walcott

I look forward to the next O You event with more interaction .This experience left me feeling inspired, filled with gratitude and eager to share the my joy. I am truly blessed and so are you.

Visit: http://www.oprahmag.co.za/

This entry was posted in Events, Health , Wellness & Spa and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Your comments & feedback are important:

