Visit South Africa’s World Heritage sites

Did you know that we have four Cultural World Heritage Sites in South Africa.  A World Heritage Site is a place (such as a forest, mountain, lake, island, monument, building, or city) that is listed by the UNESCO as of special cultural or physical significance.

The Fossil Hominid Sites of Sterkfontein, Swartkrans, Kromdraai and Environs are part what is called The Cradle of Humankind. The Taung Skull Fossil Site is the place where in 1924 the celebrated Taung Skull was found. The site has many archaeological caves traces of human occupation and evolution dating back some 3.3 million years.


Mapungubwe Cultural landscape is set against the northern border of South Africa, joining Zimbabwe and Botswana. It is an open, expansive savannah landscape. What survives are the almost untouched remains of the palace sites. This place has great cultural significance.


The 160,000 ha Richtersveld Cultural and Botanical Landscape of dramatic mountainous desert in north-western South Africa constitutes a cultural landscape communally owned and managed. This site sustains the semi-nomadic pastoral livelihood of the Nama people


For nearly 400 years, Robben Island, about 12 kilometres from Cape Town, was used as a place of exile. Mr Nelson Mandela was imprisoned here.


Have you visited any of these sites? Please share your experiences with me.

More info:

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Your comments & feedback are important:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s