What Heritage Day in South Africa means to me

heritage day

Heritage means that I have a tremendous history behind me that enables me to offer my country lessons I have learnt as an Indian born in South Africa.

I am a part of what has made this country great, which is a mixture of many nationalities and religions. I have a meaningful upbringing as an Indian, with values of community, love, compassion and humility instilled in me.

Let us celebrate our culture and the diversity of our beliefs and traditions. South Africa as a nation belongs to all its people.

National Braai Day is in recognition of the South African culinary tradition of holding braai’s in their homes, communities and gatherings. It signifies a unifying force amongst our people.

Knowing the richness of my heritage helps me to be the best I can be. Be proud as South Africans, as we are powerful as a nation in solidarity of love, hope and peace. Enjoy a united Heritage Day this 24 September 2014.

What does Heritage Day mean to you?

This entry was posted in Worth Sharing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Heritage Day in South Africa means to me

  1. Anusha Singh says:

    Livng my authentic life

  2. What a lovely post. I loved travelling through South Africa and learning about all of the different people who call this amazing country home 🙂

  3. Chuma says:

    To me heritage day does not mean nothing to me when the are people who are suffering, high rate of non employment, hunger, corruption, crimes, many people are not empowered, chronical diseases

Your comments & feedback are important:

